so city logo Delhi
search icon
header image cover

Bid Adieu To Tedious Long Journeys As We Look Forward To 6 New High-Speed Rail Corridors


With technological furtherance penetrating the nation, India is all set to welcome 6 more bullet train corridors and we feel extremely proud to spread the word. We can’t wait to hail a whirlwind of activity in the country soon!

The Tech-Savvy Way Of Commuting | Indian Railways has sanctioned Detailed Project reports (DPR’s) for 6 fresh high-speed rail projects running across the length and breadth of our country. The corridors approved are namely, Delhi-Noida-Agra-Lucknow-Varanasi (865 km), Delhi-Jaipur-Udaipur-Ahmedabad (886 km), Mumbai-Nashik-Nagpur (753 km), Mumbai-Pune-Hyderabad (711 km), Chennai-Bengaluru-Mysuru (435 km) and Delhi-Chandigarh-Ludhiana-Jalandhar-Amritsar (459 km).

Even though the first bullet train initiative is expected to witness closure by 2023, India is all set to receive finished DPR’s in 1-2 years for the new ones. Based on the traffic potential and feasibility of the routes, the corridor will be bifurcated into high speed (over 300 kmph speed) or semi-high speed corridor (between 160 - 250 kmph speed).

A drastic cut down in travel time and high demand for tickets on the chosen routes are major factors considered by the ministry. The 508 kilometres long fast-speed rail corridor will cut down the train travel time between Ahmedabad and Mumbai to a mere 2 hours, which is parallel to airlines.

We really can’t wait for these projects to become a reality!

Sourced Via Financial Express